Not-So-Sticky Toffee Pudding

This recipe from Not Without Salt reminds me of sticky toffee pudding (even though it’s really a date cake with salted toffee sauce), my absolute FAVORITE dessert that I had a lot while abroad in Scotland. It’s one of my go-to loaf cake recipes, because it has the most wonderful salty caramel and the dates give it a perfect sweetness and kind of melt into it. It’s amazing. Also, it’s really fun to make and it’s so easy. Like, crazy easy.

Also, apologies for the hiatus; I got really busy at work because I was standing in for the Global History teacher, who was a way for a week and a half. And the sad truth is, sometimes laundry has to come before baking. I’ve had the ingredients for this cake in my kitchen for almost a week, but I didn’t have a chance to make it.

If I were you, and I were eating this cake, I would serve it sliced, warm, with a dollop of whipped cream. Or maybe a nice vanilla bean ice cream. Or, you know, the peanutty chocolate-covered pretzel ice cream that’s just sitting in the freezer would work too.

Not-So-Sticky Toffee Pudding

Butter meets caramel.
Butter meets caramel.
This was a caramel accident, I swear. Haha, "I" swear. Get it? STOP.
This was a caramel accident, I swear. Haha, “I” swear. Get it? STOP.
I have officially mastered the art of parchment paper liners. Fun fact, I didn't have to struggle with turning out my cake because my paper had these handy dandy little handles sticking out. Clever.
I have officially mastered the art of parchment paper liners. Fun fact, I didn’t have to struggle with turning out my cake because my paper had these handy dandy little handles sticking out. Clever.
Pouring sauce over and then licking the spatula=high point of my night.
Pouring sauce over and then licking the spatula=high point of my night.
Sliced.
Sliced.

Ingredients:

  • 1 C granulated sugar
  • 6 T unsalted butter, cut into manageable pieces
  • 6 oz (roughly 1 C) medjool dates, pitted and chopped
  • 1 C hot water
  • 1.5 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • .75 t salt
  • 1 t vanilla extract

For the Glaze

  • 2 T unsalted butter
  • .25 C dark brown sugar
  • .25 C heavy cream
  • Good sea salt (preferably the flaky kind)

Make It

First, dump the sugar in a saucepan over medium heat and let it melt until it becomes a VERY dark brown, almost brunt-looking caramel. Totally don’t worry. I worried, but I didn’t need to worry, it all came out okay. Stir to make sure all of the sugar is melted and yummy. Next, add the butter, dates, and hot water. The mixture will bubble up and froth and boil but keep stirring and leave on the heat until everything is melted together. Remove from heat (I put it in another bowl to cool it faster) and let sit for 15 minutes.

Stir in flour and baking soda with a spoon until just incorporated, then add egg, vanilla, and salt. Stir to combine, and pour into greased loaf pan. Bake in the oven for 40-50 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted comes out clean.

After removing the cake from the oven, prick it all over the top with a wooden skewer. In a small saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter and the brown sugar until both are melted. Add the heavy cream and stir until combined. Remove from heat and slowly pour over your loaf, letting it sink into the holes. Remove loaf from pan about 10 minutes after pouring the glaze on, and let cool on a cooling rack/enjoy while still warm.

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑